Coventry’s old Cathedral

By Ann Evans

Photos by Rob Tysall, Tysall’s Photography.


Continuing our series on Coventry, Ann Evans tells us more about this great city which has recently won the bid to become UK City of Culture 2021.

Coventry is famous for many things – including being the only city in the country to have three cathedrals.

Replicas of the beams found after the Blitz in the form of a cross

Most people are aware of it having two cathedrals. The ruins of the old cathedral – the medieval parish church of St Michaels, destroyed during the Blitz of November 14th 1940; and the awe inspiring new cathedral, designed by Sir Basil Spence and consecrated in 1962.

But long before these came into existence, there was St Mary’s Priory and Cathedral believed to have been founded in the 11th century by Earl Leofric and his wife, Godiva, which was consecrated in 1043. Some historians however, believe it to already have been in existence, and that Leofric and Godiva had merely endowed it with their wealth to ensure its survival and prosperity.

Remnants from St Mary’s Priory and cathedral

The cathedral of St Mary would have been an immense 425 feet long, although there are no records in existence now showing its exact dimensions or appearance. Comparisons are made between St Mary’s and Lichfield cathedral, its sister church built around the same time. St Mary’s is also believed to be the burial place of Lord Leofric in 1057.

The Priory and Cathedral of St Mary stood for 400 years until King Henry VIII’s Dissolution of the Monasteries in the mid 16th century. It was the only cathedral to be demolished by Henry VIII during the Reformation. Masonry and other items were taken and used elsewhere, but some parts survived such as the north-west tower. which was used as a house until the charity school of Blue Coats was built there in 1856. Some remains of the 11th century cathedral were discovered during the construction of the school.

Christ in Glory. The world’s largest tapestry made in one piece

In 1960 an excavation of the site made more discoveries, and in 1999 the Coventry Archaeological Team and Channel 4’s ‘Time Team’ programme began an excavation of the site. The 4-day dig plus another visit by the ‘Time Team’ in 2001 and the work since by Coventry Archaeology and Northamptonshire Archaeology have unearthed fascinating artefacts from those Medieval times.

Amongst its notable discoveries was a male skeleton. Forensics showed this to be of a middle aged, overweight, diabetic man, thought to have been a Prior of St Mary’s. It also discovered remnants of a 14th century wall painting and a 14th century tiled floor.

Coventry Cathedral’s 295ft spire

The Priory Visitors’ Centre, built above the Undercroft of the Priory, is now run as a social enterprise venture, providing a wonderful opportunity for people to see the amazingly preserved remains of Coventry’s first cathedral, to learn of its history, and to walk in the footsteps of the city’s medieval ancestors.

Coventry’s Lady Godiva, Pru Poretta in the new cathedral for a multicultural celebration

If you visit Coventry, be sure to take a look.

10 things you may not have known about Coventry’s cathedrals.

  • St Michael’s Church (the old cathedral) built between the 13th and 14th centuries was elevated to cathedral status in 1918. The city had been without a cathedral for almost 400 years.
  • Shortly after the Blitz which destroyed the old cathedral, Jock Forbes, the cathedral stonemason noticed that two charred medieval roof timbers had fallen in the shape of a cross. They were later placed on an altar of rubble with the words ‘Father Forgive’ inscribed on the Sanctuary Wall.
  • Incredibly, the towering spire of the old cathedral of St Michael’s survived the Blitz. It stands at 295 feet tall.

    Down in the undercroft of St Mary’s

  • On the night of November 14th 1940, 450 German bombers dropped 500 tons of high explosives, 30,000 incendiaries, 50 land mines and 20 oil mines on Coventry. Many thousands of homes and factories were destroyed or damaged. 554 men, women and children died that night, 865 were injured.
  • The day after the Blitz, the cathedral provost Richard T Howard declared that a new cathedral would be built beside the ruins of the old. Her Majesty the Queen attended its consecration in 1962.
  • In 1950 a competition was held, open to any architect from the British Commonwealth, to submit a design for the new cathedral. This was won by Sir Basil Spence. His unorthodox design however, has created a great deal of controversy over the years.
  • The new cathedral, like the old, is called St Michaels.
  • The tapestry of ‘Christ in Glory’, by Graham Sutherland, is the largest tapestry in the world made in one piece. It measures 75 x 38ft (23 x 11m) and weighs just over a tonne. It was made in France by 12 women and one foreman.
  • The imposing bronze statue of St Michael and the Devil was sculpted by Sir Jacob Epstein. He sadly died in 1959, never seeing his work mounted on the cathedral walls a year later.
  • The opening ceremony of the consecration of the new cathedral, saw the premiere performance of Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem.

Inside the new cathedral

Discover more about Coventry’s three cathedrals at


Writer Ann Evans has hardback copies of her illustrated book A Children’s History of Coventry. Priced £4.99 + P & P. Contact Ann to arrange for a signed copy.


Children’s History of Coventry